Maine's Public Universities - University of Maine System

Life the way it should be

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of the University of Maine System consists of 16 members, 15 of whom are appointed by the Governor. The Maine Commissioner of Education serves as a member ex officio. Members are appointed for a five-year term and may be reappointed once. A student member of the Board is appointed for a single two-year term.

The Board has full legal responsibility and authority for the University System. It appoints the Chancellor and each University President, approves the establishment and elimination of academic programs, confers tenure on faculty members, sets tuition rates and operating budgets, and more.

The Clerk of the Board, J. Kelley Wiltbank, administers all functions necessary to the conduct of its responsibilities.

The Board of Trustees Office can be contacted at:

Freedom of Access Requests

Electronic Board Meeting Materials  new clip art

In January 2012, UMSTrustees approved a comprehensive new set of goals and actions to move the University System quickly forward in the areas of program and workforce development, cost control, and student success: